Goodbye, yellow tag road.

13 Jan

Yellow tags, yellow tags hanging from my door, don’t you know I’ve got no money? Please give me a break (two more weeks, what’s two more weeks?) and go.

I promise to pay you off but today is not the day, I’ve got groceries to buy and my hair is turning gray.

I’m talented. I know.

In all seriousness, I was drowning in a sea of yellow tags. They’d be everywhere. I’d be overwhelmed. I had to make changes.

My dad cut me off and gave me some speech about fishing which just made me crave salmon and that shit is expensive. Throw some asparagus and mashed potatoes and you had me at salmon.

No really, in order to start climbing my way out of debt I had to make major adjustments to my not-even-close-to affluent lifestyle. My fiancé and I decided to give up the internet, cable, new clothes/shoes, eating out, overpriced coffee, our gym memberships, and pizza.

We had our last pizza, beer, wings, and Netflix movie extravaganza last night. It was everything I thought it would be.

I’m really excited about paying off our debts and not coming home to yellow tags on my door. I can do this. We can do this. Being frugal doesn’t have to be boring. Here’s to discovering our neighborhood on a budget of free.

Live, love, laugh.

Leave a Reply

